FOLLOWING PARALUMAN IN TAIPEI

So I just arrived back home from Boracay and I’ve got loads of stuff to post on the blog, but first, let me finish off my Taipei-spree with my complete travel diary.

DISCLAIMER: You’ll see a lot of random photographs so be ready, hahaha!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

So this trip basically just happened because I (impulsively) bought a concert ticket to Coldplay’s ‘A Head Full of Dreams Tour 2017’. I didn’t regret making that decision though, because I got to see one of my favourite bands perform live, and I met a lot of wonderful people along the way…as always.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I headed to Taipei’s Beitou District on my first day for a day at the hot springs. It’s a very popular thing to do in Taiwan, and Beitou is not to be missed when you’re in the city.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I checked into Spring City Resort around Beitou District.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Finally, the moment that I’ve been waiting for! They were giving away LED bracelets on the concert, and the lights were in sync with the music, which I think was pretty rad.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

Singing with Coldplay live has got to be one of the most amazing things that’s ever happen in my life. No kidding and without exaggeration.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

It was actually raining that night, and it was weird because I was just wearing shorts and a sweater (need to check the weather on my next trips, lol) and then all of the Taiwanese beside me were pulling off plastic ponchos from their bags. Like, WTH I did not get the memo. Hahaha!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I nearly fainted when Chris Martin sang ‘Everglow’. It was my favourite song, and whilst he was singing, I couldn’t help but cry a bit so I recorded *ooops* it on my phone and sent it to my boyfriend. The concert ended very quickly though, huhuhu.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The next day I ate a big bowl of beef noodles to soothe my fan girl heart…and belly, hehehe.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I went to Arukinomoli 有木之森 Cafe with my friend, Ethan. I really liked the ambiance of this place because it was so cosy and earth-y.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Not to mention that they serve amazing coffee in equally amazing cups.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Just casually waiting at Taipei’s MRT. I actually loved Taipei’s train system so much. For me, it’s even better than NYC’s Subway, and obviously, a whole lot better than the Philippines’ MRT/LRT. Taipei’s MRT is very organised and clean.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I stayed at 北門臥客青年旅舍 We Come Hostel for the duration of my trip. I promise that it’s the best hostel in Taipei, and it’s very accessible because it’s near Beimen MRT Station.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Of course I’m drinking bubble tea in Taiwan. It’s given already, hahaha.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

There’s a small night market near my hostel so I’ve been eating there a lot. Who wouldn’t want to eat at a night market every night, right? Right? Hahaha!

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

One thing I really love about Taiwan is that it’s very advanced but still very nature inclined. You can see big buildings but then there’d be a huge row of trees beside them so it’s pretty amazing. I hope the Philippines could copy that.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

At night, I loved going to Mikkeller Taipei 米凱樂啤酒吧 with my Norwegian friend, Ingri. They have the most distinct and arts-y beer selections.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Also, they have the sassiest glasses. Hahaha!

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

This is Dylan. Dylan is from Australia. Australia is an awesome country that I would want to visit in 2018.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

(L-R: Melanie, Dipto, Dylan, Jeanette, Danica, Albert, David, Chris and Steff)

This crazy bunch and I met using Tour Me Away’s ‘Longshan Temple Tour’. Tour Me Away is a travel organization from Taipei that hosts free tours for both local and international travellers. They’re not to be missed when you visit Taipei. Did I mention that their tours are free? Yep, they only accept donations. How cool is that?!

Click HERE to be redirected to Tour Me Away’s website and know more about them.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The façade of the famous Longshan Temple. Look at that intricate wood carvings. It amazes me how somebody could do such thing.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I really liked the details of the Longshan Temple’s design. I didn’t worship or try their methods though because it’s not my faith.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Capping off the tour with some scallion pancakes that we got at the night market, yay!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

What better way to cool off from a hot day in Taipei? Eating their famous shaved ice is the way to go! Ice Monster Taipei is the go-to place for shaved ice.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Beautiful different types and colours of sorbet from Ice Monster Taipei.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

A random photo of strangers at a local temple in Taipei’s Old City.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I’ve decided to visit, WANGTEA 有記名茶, one of Taipei’s oldest tea houses for an afternoon tea.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Their specialty is their Oolong Tea, which was really good and aromatic. I took some home, of course. Heh!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I was drowning in bubble tea whilst I was in Taiwan, hahaha!

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

I loved seeing fireworks around the city. It made me feel like it’s Chinese New Year, hahaha!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I had lunch this one time at Karen Teppanyaki so I could try an authentic Taiwanese Teppanyaki, and this restaurant surely did not disappoint.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This was Karen Teppanyaki’s signature ‘Taiwanese Beef Teppanyaki’. It sure does taste as good as it looks!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

When I was a kid I’ve always wanted to see the Taipei 101 since it was the tallest building in the world (back then, hahaha). I made that dream come true nearly 15 years later.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

We hiked the Elephant Mountain to get a better view of the lovely Taipei 101. I couldn’t quite put my finger on it. Hmmm.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

The Taipei 101 proudly standing tall from the ground. Such a beautiful scene that I thought I’m only going to be able to see in movies and photographs, ah! Dreams really do come true.

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

I love how Taipei is still richly inclined to it’s ancient roots and culture despite it being very advanced.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

These are the best vegetarian dumplings in Taipei! I kid you not! Dylan and I can vouch for it.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Although I couldn’t figure out what it’s name was because it’s in Chinese, huhuhu. Also, ordering food was just like playing a game of Russian Roulette, but with food, because it’s all in Chinese and we don’t know what we’d end up getting. Hahaha!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

They also have great noodles! Now I’m making myself hungry, heh.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

It’s not a complete trip to Taipei without visiting the Shilin Night Market. Am I right? Hehehe.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This candied strawberry was one of my Shilin staples. It’s basically just strawberry coated in candied sugar so it’s very hard on the outside but ridiculously soft and juicy on the inside.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

A Taiwanese twist on the famous Japanese street food, Takoyaki.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Yep, they sell torched/roasted Wagyu Beef on the streets of Shilin. Hahaha.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The crowd at Shilin Night Market on a normal night. How crazy is this? Hahaha! Well I couldn’t blame them because there’s so much to eat and see at Shilin.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

(L-R: David, Danica, Ludvig and Goncalo)

Shilin Night Market with the Dumpling Boys, hahaha! Missing these guys, awww.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

7/11 finds are really random, hahaha! They have the most colourful and flavourful milk varieties, hehehe.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I mean, I couldn’t leave Taiwan without trying out their local beer, right? It’s a must for me in every city/country I go to.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Rolled Ice Cream at the streets of Shilin, yay! I’ve always wanted to try these babies, hehehe.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This trip has been my most successful budgeted backpacking trip yet. I only spent $150 USD for a whole 10 days in Taipei (not including air fare). How did I do it? I have no idea, hahaha! But I did it, that’s what matters.

Also, many thanks to all my sponsors. I couldn’t have survived without you all. Hahaha!

I’m currently backpacking through the Philippines so you’ll see more about that soon.

For now, I have to head to bed. ‘Til the next!

“No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.”

Romans 8:37 NIV

Leave a Reply

