LAS CASAS FILIPINAS DE ACUZAR

So last week, my family and I went to Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar in Bagac, Bataan. We’ve all been hearing great reviews about this place and since my mother and I are both suckers for history and antique, we gave it a go.

We booked via Booking.com.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This piece of paper holds our card keys to our hotel room. It says, “Pride in the past. Hope for the future.”

We checked in for the weekend. If you check in, the tours are free and you have free breakfast for two adults. If you exceed, you have to pay an additional of PHP 1,500.00, and that includes another breakfast stub.

For Day Tours, you can pay PHP 1,500.00 and you can go on tours and stuff.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The house that’s my personal favourite! Just look at that fountain and that exterior of the house.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

My silhouette gaming is strong, lol.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This whole house was just the reception of the hotel. It’s ridiculously big, windy and beautiful!

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

Taking a step into another era.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This photograph was taken from the veranda of one of the casas at the compound. The previous owner’s of this casa were a couple who helped our former President Diosdado Macapagal study and finish his schooling. Also, this casa was used a garrison of the Japanese soldiers during the WWII.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Secretly wishing I somehow own this paradise…or at least, a casa from this compound.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The view is amazing and it feels like I’ve been transported to the past.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This was the façade of the casa where the owner’s sent our former President Diosdado Macapagal to school.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

My hobbies actually include knocking on old people’s ancestral houses and pleading for them to let me in so I could hear their old family stories and marvel at their antique furniture.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

A simple lamp post by the bridge.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Overlooking the Hotel de Oriente. My boyfriend told me it looked like Athens, Greece. Hahaha!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The road inside the compound. You can get around by jeepney for free and/or by tram. Also, as you can see, the beach is just by the side.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Such a pretty and historical site!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Here’s a photograph of the traditional windows from the old casas from the Philippines. The windows are made from capiz shells or Windowpane Oysters.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Never missing an opportunity to shoe-fie on cobblestone roads. Also, roads in the Philippines are all made of cobblestones during the Spanish Regime.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

Just love the silhouette effect of this photograph.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Now some of you might find this place familiar. If you’ve seen the film, Heneral Luna, by Director Jerrold Tarog, this was the location where they filmed the scene where the general himself was killed.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Just love this silhouette photograph that my mother took.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

A photograph of a lamp post overlooking Hotel de Oriente.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Just look at that intricate bed detail and that rattan handwork. My serious definition of #bedgoals. Though the middle of the headboard sort of looks like the spindle from Sleeping Beauty, lol.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This was the pool inside the compound. It was styled as a ‘batis’ or stream. It’s shallow and great for kids. However, the rocks on the side makes it a bit dangerous. Also, if you’re swimming, just be careful because the pool goes from shallow to a bit deep so be careful not to hit your face.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

After a long day worth of tours, you can relax and chill by the tub. They have a beautiful bathroom modeled after vintage bathrooms. If I had known, I would’ve brought bath bombs from Lush.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

My beach essentials:

Beach Hat from Robinsons Department Store

Sunnies from Sunnies Studios

Brida by Paulo Coelho

Vitamin Boost

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Growing up from the islands of the Philippines, I’m always at the beach. So I love my daily dose of vitamin sea, yay!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

My cute cousins and brothers; Rafael, Lemuel, Rojan and Daniel. They’re looking at the window and into the other casas.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I didn’t want to leave this place but sadly, it was time to check out! I’ll surely be back soon!

My day two outfit:

Top from Forever 21

Trousers from Paraluman’s

Bag from Louis Vuitton

Shoes from Divi (hahaha)

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

My Las Casas outfit during our first day:

Vintage Dress

Peep Toe Heels from S&H

Bag from Louis Vuitton

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I’d surely love to come back when the other constructions are finished. It surely will add more beauty to the already beautiful and historical compound.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

A photograph of me just hanging (literally) on the tram.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Such intricate details on this antique mirror. I wonder how many faces have this mirror came across with. Sometimes I wish I could travel through time so I could see what life was back then. I’m sure I’m not the only one who wishes that, right…or am I? I must be crazy then, ha!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Just a nice dip by the pool with my family. It was a beautiful night.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This casa was named Casa Hagonoy from my Dad’s paternal side. My Dad’s Grandpa was from the family who originally owned this house…that’s what my Aunt told me. Hahaha!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I’m a sucker for beautiful sunsets and warm beaches. I’m going to miss this country and its beautiful beaches. That’s why whenever I travel, I always brag about the beautiful beaches in my beautiful homeland.

SUGGESTION: The only problem I encountered was that there wasn’t much food options inside the compound. It was a very big compound and it’s pretty far from the city so there wasn’t much food options when you go out. Also, when we stayed there the Filipino Restaurant inside Hotel de Oriente was closed. We were super disappointed. Good thing we saw a nearby cafe so we just went there instead.

For sure I’d definitely go back here because it’s just stunning! Also, it’s definitely one of those places where I’d recommend my foreign friends to visit. Just amazing and beautiful and very educational.

DIRECTIONS: If you’re driving from Manila, you may click HERE for the map. If you’re driving from Malolos Capitol, you may click HERE.

To know more about Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar, click HERE to be redirected to their website.

It’s a bit pricey, I’ll admit, but it’s super worth it!

‘Til my next adventure! Taipei, I’m coming for you!

“Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.”

Galatians 1:10 NIV

Leave a Reply

