DISCOVERING MY OWN CITY

I’ve been to quite a few countries and a ton of different foreign cities. However, the feeling that I get when explore my own city is quite different. I’ve been to Manila countless times, I’ve been passing by these roads every single day, and these people, my people, have been there all my life. I’ll have to admit, Manila is crazy! I’d be lying if I told you it isn’t. Although despite the craziness and the poverty, Manila is a pretty great and historic city. I explored this city with one of my bestest friend, Cyril, and we walked down memory lane.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

According to Tolkien, “Not all those who wander are lost.”

Our first destination was the Nation Museum of the Philippines. I’ve been here countless times but I really love showing people around these halls.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

A photo of a lady with her child.

The red background is really appealing against this white figure. Though I really find sculptures scary.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Interiors of the old Senate of the Philippines.

I wonder how many laws and bills were passed within these walls. I’d love to witness some of the greatest statesmen in my country.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This was a self portrait that was drawn by Juan Luna as a gift to his parents.

It’s crazy how photography wasn’t really a thing back in the day and you had to have drawings or paintings for people to see what you looked like. If I had to draw myself as a present to my parents, I reckon they won’t recognise me because my drawing skills really suck.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

An angel, I guess?

This is probably the most photographed sculpture at the National Museum of the Philippines. Why? Probably because it’s literally right in front of you as you walk inside.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Spoliarium by Juan Luna

The ever so famous painting by one of the best artists that ever graced this county, Juan Luna’s Spoliarium.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Cyril on the hallway.

I just love taking photographs of people. I feel like a single photograph says a different story every single time.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

A photograph of me by some paintings.

Just a random photograph of me by some religious paintings by my friend, Cyril. I’d like to say that this photo was a candid photo but who am I even kidding? Ha!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

A photograph of me sitting by the window.

My hobbies include sitting on museum floors and nagging my friends to take photos of me. I’m not even kidding. Also, I love every single thing about this photo. Heh!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

National Museum of Anthropology

We didn’t get to go in because there was a tremendously long line. We might have to come back for this one, heh!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

My favourite, pichi-pichi for Amber’s.

There’s a local restaurant in Manila called Amber’s and they serve the best Pansit Malabon and Pichi-Pichi. It’s a must try for everyone visiting Manila!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

A photograph of me by our National Hero’s Monument.

I like to visit our National Hero, Dr. José Protasio Rizal Mercado y Alonso Realonda on my free time. I do aspire to be like him…except the execution part, of course!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Wandering through Manila on our #GrabKalesa.

Why use cars when you can ride Kalesas? Hmmm. Actually, I take that back. As much as this ride was fun, I think that’s abusing our horses because they suffer to give us enjoyment. Not what I really want. Poor horses.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

A photograph of me by the ruins of the old Central Bank.

My friend, Cyril, took this photograph of me by the ruins of the old Central Bank of the Philippines.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The ruins of the old Central Bank of the Philippines.

This is what remains of this old building. This is where the old Central Bank of the Philippines used to stand. Unfortunately, it was destroyed during the Battle of Manila because of the Japanese who bombed us.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

A photograph of my friend, Cyril, by the ruins of the old Central Bank.

Cyril and I both like history so this was a really educational trip for us.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

A photograph of me and my friend, Cyril.

I actually forgot what this monument was called, ah! Forgive me, but it looked like it has something to do with the Philippines’ relationship with Mexico…I guess.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

A photograph of me casually sitting by the ruins.

I love sitting by old ruins. Ah! Also, the irony of this photo is that I was sitting at an old piece of architecture, however, there’s a newly modeled building right behind me. Ah!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

A photograph of Cyril inside Fort Santiago.

This was a fun photograph of Cyril, hahaha!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

A selfie of me and Cyril after our day ended.

Now he’s off to Paris leaving me behind, ah! So glad to have discovered these places with one of my bestest friends.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Maps of Manila.

No matter where I go, I’ll always come home to you, Manila.


If you want to go to these places, they’re all for free…except Fort Santiago, you have to pay an amount of PHP 75.00, which is not really bad considering the history that’s in store for you.

All the National Museums are free of charge. Yay!

Explore your own city and you’ll be surprised by what discoveries you’re going to make.

PS: I am headed to Kenya and Uganda next month. Any recommendations?

“A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for a time of adversity.”

Proverbs 17:17 NIV

3 thoughts on “DISCOVERING MY OWN CITY

Leave a Reply

