THIS IS WHAT TRUE LOVE LOOKS LIKE

These days, the term #relationshipgoals has been running around the internet, and it’s causing a lot of relationship envies all around the world.

I have to admit, I’ve been a victim of this worldwide trend. Though there’s nothing wrong with posting photos of you and your significant other and putting the term #relationshipgoals or #goals, but the point that I’m trying to get across is, we’ve been blinded by the thought that a relationship has to be a certain way. For example, our boyfriends/girlfriends ‘should’ plan us a very extravagant surprise celebration for our anniversaries so we can share it on social media for all the world to see. There’s a thought that we ‘should’ take photos of the simple things that our significant others are giving us like chocolates, clothes, etc. Also, there’s a notion that since this other couple on Instagram went to this place, we also ‘should’ go there, or we also ‘should’ do this, or we ‘should’ buy this. No, these are things that we shouldn’t be doing. Well for me, at least.

I think we’ve lost the sense of privacy that each relationships need to have. There’s happiness in knowing that what me and my boyfriend’s business is just ours, and it’s not shared with the whole world. There’s a sense of joy when I know that me and my love are cozy in the privacy of each our homes. I just don’t get how other people can compare each other’s relationships and they get sulky or sad when their relationships are not as extravagant, glamourous or as well bragged (if that’s even a term) as the other couple’s relationship.

I mean, I do get the idea that you want to show the whole world who your true loves are. I get it. I even do that on most of my posts. I also am guilty of being too in love (which isn’t a bad thing at all), and I have nothing against posting photos or videos or whatsoever, it’s just, when we start comparing our lives with other people’s lives, it gets too toxic. That’s what we should refrain from doing.

I saw this post once on Facebook. A friend of mine shared a video of a couple (which i must say is very beautiful) and she said that, “this is what true love is like.” Well I completely disagree. True love takes shape in different forms and sizes. It’s different for every body. What you consider true love for yourself might not be true love for me. It’s just very sad how other people can be so comparative and unhappy with what we have for ourselves.

Forgive me if I don’t make sense. I’m currently sitting in front of my computer in our office. I guess this is what sleep deprivation does to people. I don’t usually complain online, it just gets to me sometimes.

For me, true love takes shape in the guy I love who lives all the way in Canada. Maybe that’s not true love for other people, and that’s okay.

Please remember that love takes form in all shapes and sizes. People, refrain from comparing your lives with other’s lives because that’s a very unhealthy lifestyle. I get that we love lurking at other people’s business, but it’s okay to lurk at others if we just want to look for inspiration, not to look for competition or whatsoever. You feel me? Maybe I’m just crazy, but I’m just stating my opinion.

Love is a very wonderful feeling. It’s God’s gift to mankind, so please, take care of it and never take it for granted.

“To do what is right and just is more acceptable to the Lord than sacrifice. “

Proverbs 21:3 NIV

5 thoughts on “THIS IS WHAT TRUE LOVE LOOKS LIKE

  1. Just in time, Mem. I need this. Nag-iinarte pa naman ako kasi parang ako lang walang bouquet at chocolate nung Valentines. Naiinggit ako sa mga nakikita ko sa Facebook. Now I know para pala akong tanga kakaisip ng walang kwentang mga bagay at nakakalimutan ko yung mga little things at efforts na ginagawa ng boyfriend ko sakin. Masyado tayo nagpapakalunod sa mga #relationshipgoals na yan sa social media at nakakalimutan natin yung totoong meaning ng Love. Ganda ng blog na to, Mem! Relate much. Haha

    Like

    1. ‘Di ba? Hahaha. We should always look into what’s important, significant and what really matters, hindi ‘yung puro material things lang. Thank you for reading, Mem.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

