FOLLOWING PARALUMAN IN NEW YORK (PART ONE)

It sort of took me quite a while to compose my New York travel diary so finally, here it is!

Ever since I could remember, New York has always been on the top of my travel list. It’s always been a dream of mine to set foot on the Big Apple. Since I’m also an aspiring playwright, New York is a must see for me because Broadway is here. So when I graduated from university, I asked my mother if she could send me to New York as her graduation present for me. To my surprise, she said yes! I applied for my US Visa (click HERE to read about how to/steps) and long story short, I booked my flight and voilà! New York, here I come!

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Strolling around the streets of New York.

I landed in New York on the 27th of June. I went to Singapore and Germany first before heading to this beautiful city!

Walking past the buildings that I’ve only seen in movies, it made me realise that God is truly wonderful and He really is a promise keeping God. If you’re waiting for a miracle or a breakthrough, don’t fret if He’s taking a long time to answer for His timings are always perfect, always remember that.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

Look at how chic my room is!

Technically, I stayed in upstate New York. It was ridiculously far from the city! But Newburgh has quite a nice view of the Hudson River and it was an amazing neighbourhood with amazing views and friendly people! Somewhat the exact opposite of busy Manhattan.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Bear Mountain State Park

On my first few days, my aunts and I, along with one of my cousins, went to Bear Mountain State Park. We ate at the park, but it rained, unfortunately. Nevertheless, it’s a great park and I’d most definitely go back to go hiking here on my next trip to New York!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Selfie, of course!

I think my hair matches my surroundings, don’t you think?

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Train ticket that’ll take us to the city!

On my first trip to the city, my cousin, Aaron, and I drove to Beacon Train Station to catch the train that’ll take us to Grand Central Station (Terminal). It’s an hour or so trip, and we paid a good amount of $16 for a one way off-peak ticket. Not bad, I must say.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Another selfie, lol.

This selfie thingy is becoming a habit. Ah!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

A photo of me at Times Square by my cousin, Aaron.

This was definitely one of the highlights of my trip! My first ever photo at Times Square! Ah! I’ve only seen this in the movies and it felt really surreal that I’m stepping there in the flesh! God is truly so amazing!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Broadway Street

All these streets are amazing! I can definitely see what Taylor Swift was talking about when she wrote her song, ‘Welcome to New York’.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

Me and my cousin, Aaron, at Times Square.

I’m just so grateful to have cousins to show me around their city. They’ve been here since like, forever. Hahaha! Can’t wait to visit them again soon!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Strolling along the streets of Manhattan.

New York makes me fall in love over and over again! It’s just so amazing and beautiful! I love it!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Serendipity 3!

Is anyone of you familiar with the movie ‘Serendipity’? Kate Beckinsale and John Cusack starred in it. Ring a bell? If yes, this is the exact café/restaurant where they tried the ever popular frozen hot chocolate!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Serendipity 3’s menu!

I felt like I stepped into the movie when I stepped inside Serendipity 3. It was amazing! The ambiance was amazing, the people were awesome and were very accommodating, and the food, it was perfect!

I tried their nachos and Aaron tried their salad. It was amazing, I must say!

If you want to see their full menu, click HERE to be redirected to their website.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Serendipity 3’s every popular, frozen hot chocolate.

It’s just basically hot chocolate sitting on top of shaved ice, with generous amount of whipped cream and more chocolate shavings on top. It was amazing, I tell you! I can finally see why it’s so popular! It’s so good! Will most definitely go back to this place! With my boyfriend the next time, hopefully, hihihihihihihi.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

LUSH!

Of course, I just had to hoard bath bombs at Lush Cosmetics. It’s the right thing to do. Am I right? Am I right?

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I’m officially a bath bomb hoarder!

This bag is full of the things that dreams are made of…bath bombs!

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Strolling around Central Park.

I definitely had my ‘Enchanted’ moment in Central Park. I tried to sneak in some singing and dancing every now and then…my cousin just thought I was weird, hahaha! #sorrynotsorry

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Concrete jungle where dreams are made of!

I can definitely see what Alicia Keys was talking about when she wrote the song, ‘Empire State of Mind’. New York is honestly so amazing!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I just casually snapped a photo of my cousin, Aaron.

Here’s my cousin, Aaron, whilst we were strolling through Central Park.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

A glimpse of the Bethesda Fountain.

Gossip Girl fans, does this look familiar? Yes, this was the place where Blair Waldorf and Chuck Bass got married! Ah! So much feels for this place!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Fourth of July!

It’s my very first Fourth of July in the United States of America, and I intend to celebrate more of it in this amazing country!

It just basically rained so hard in New York that night, but it was worth it. That also didn’t stop the fireworks from shining! It was a memorable night–one of the most memorable nights of my life, I must say!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Beautiful Fireworks by Battery Park.

My cousin, Kim, and I, along with some friends, watched the Fourth of July fireworks by Battery Park. You could also see the Brooklyn Bridge from there. It was a truly amazing sight! God is amazing!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Shoe-fie whilst waiting for the train…is shoe-fie a thing? Lol.

Scored these babies at Buffalo Exchange. Something I love about Brooklyn most is that there’s a lot of thrift stores! Ah!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Brooklyn Bridge!

We walked on the other side of the Brooklyn Bridge and just watched people walk by it. It was a sunny day and it was perfect. Just a nice day with my family in Brooklyn.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

One of my favourite photos from our Brooklyn trip that day.

Brooklyn is definitely one of my favourites in New York. I could see myself living here someday. It’s just so hipster, I love it!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

St. Anne’s Warehouse by DUMBO in Brooklyn.

This is one of my favourite hangout spots in Brooklyn. It’s just so picturesque. I’d do an OOTD shot here but I’m fat, so no can do!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Who can forget about Jollibee?

I was actually craving for Chicken Joy for quite some time in New York so I was overjoyed when I heard that there’s Jollibee in Queens! My Filipino heart is happy! I mean, come on! One of the struggles of being a Filipino abroad is not having Jollibee regularly! Hahaha! I’m just so glad that Jollibee is in New York already.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Strawberry picking at Lawrence Farms Orchards.

It was a perfect day for some strawberries so we’ve decided to go strawberry picking in a farm near our house in Newburgh.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Not a very fine day for apple picking, I’m afraid.

These apples are babies! We came at the wrong time! Ah!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Beautiful sky in New York.

This was taken by the Hudson River. We were having dinner–yes, it’s 8PM and the sky is still this bright. I mean, I’m from the Philippines so the sun goes down at like 5PM so it’s unusual for me that it’s already 8PM and the sun is still up and about, hahaha! It’s cool though.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Strolling by the Hudson River with my cousin, Mannix Jr.

Here am I, drinking tea (in a cup yes, sorry) with Mannix Jr., my cousin. Isn’t he a cutie!

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

Just my normal self taking a selfie in Brooklyn.

All in all it was an amazing first few weeks in my dream city, New York. I’ll be posting more about it in the next coming weeks…if I’m not busy from my day job (yes, i actually got a job, yay).

Remember, your dreams will come true if you have the courage to pursue it and the determination to never stop chasing it. Most definitely, pray to God and let Him assure you that it’ll all come to you in His perfect time. Don’t rush things because everything will work out perfectly according to His will.

New York, I love you! I’m coming back for you!

What’s your favourite New York destination/moment?

PS: I would like to thank Singapore Airlines for helping me get to New York as quickly and as hassle free as possible after my flight with China Airlines got cancelled.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Flying somewhere above Indonesia.

As I arrived at the airport in Manila, I saw that my original China Air flight was cancelled due to some cabin crew strike in Taiwan. It was such a hassle! It’s a good thing Singapore Airlines agreed to transport us back to New York without paying for anything! They even provided for us and took care of us! Such great service!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Food at Singapore Airlines.

I never really liked airplane food, but Singapore Airlines’ food was actually so good and tasty as well!

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

(L-R: Elias and Oliver and me.)

S/O to these people who I flew with from Singapore to Frankfurt to Paris and up until New York! Who knew being so jet lag would be much of a fun! You guys are awesome and I hope to see you again at some point!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

FINALLY!

After how many stops and delayed flights, I finally got to my destination, New York City!

This is not a sponsored post…just really grateful for the services of Singapore Airlines. You guys are awesome!

All photos are taken using my iPhone 5S.

“But I will sing of your strength, in the morning I will sing of your love; for you are my fortress, my refuge in times of trouble.”

Psalm 59:16 NIV

4 thoughts on “FOLLOWING PARALUMAN IN NEW YORK (PART ONE)

Leave a Reply

