FOLLOWING PARALUMAN IN TENNESSEE

So I promised that I will upload my Tennessee travel diary some three weeks ago…but due to some schedule conflict (job hunting, ugh) I haven’t had the chance to upload them until tonight. So here we go!

We arrived at Nashville late at night from Jonesboro, Georgia so we didn’t have enough time to roam around the city because all of us were so tired from driving.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Posing by the Tennessee Welcome Center.

Nashville was our first stop in our Tennessee trip. We stayed in Nashville for about a night and one full day.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Nashville in its full light and splendor.

Before retiring to our hotel and calling it a day, my cousin and I asked our aunts if we could roam around Broadway Street. So they dropped us off. Nashville is a very loud and bright city. I actually didn’t expect it to be this alive, but I’ve been corrected. To this day, Nashville is probably one of my most favourite cities in the world!

This photo was taken in Broadway Street. Like it’s just a street full of pubs and country music, it’s so amazing! But unfortunately, I couldn’t get in. I love being underage in America! The weird transition where you’re considered an adult in Asia and in Europe and then you go to North America and then you’re a baby again. Hahaha! Do you feel me? But this just makes an excuse for me to come back next year…when I’m old enough to go inside the pubs and listen to some nice country music from the inside, not from the streets! Ha!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Howdy, y’all!

Oh, you know, just being a normal country girl.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The Parthenon in Nashville.

This is the exact replica of The Parthenon in Athens, Greece.

If you’re a fan of Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson (the film though), you’ll notice that this Parthenon is slightly familiar. Yes, it’s the exact Parthenon where Percy, Annabeth and Grover was asked to get one of the gems on Athena’s head…or something like that.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Speaking of Athena…

Growing up, I’ve had quite the fascination with Greek Mythology. Whilst my friends in school were busy reading Princess Diaries in 6th Grade, I asked my dad if he could buy me Edith Hamilton’s Greek Mythology. Hahaha. I was a nerd. I guess I still am.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Details of the statue of Athena.

The Parthenon is a 3-story (if I’m not mistaken) museum. Under Athena’s huge statue, is a series of paintings and some photographs. On the lower floor, you can visit their gift center. I actually bought a Parthenon charm for my charm bracelet and some postcards. I collect postcards. Like, I buy postcards from everywhere I go and just keep them or put them in my diary or send them to people I love. I’m old school. Like, really old school that I still send my boyfriend snail mails because I think texting is not enough. Though I like texting, I think there’s just something special with snail mails.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The shield of Athena.

If I’m correct, I think that’s Medusa’s head that’s on Athena’s shield.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

A selfie of me and my dear Sweet Pea outside of The Parthenon.

The Parthenon is open every day except Mondays. If you want to visit them, you have to pay $6.00 if you’re an adult and $4.00 if you have children from the ages of 4-7 or if you’re a senior who is over 62.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Details of the façade of The Parthenon.

The architecture of The Parthenon is actually outstanding. Love and appreciation for architecture has grown in me since my dad is an architect.

So if you guys want to visit The Parthenon, you can check their website by clicking HERE so you’ll know what to expect.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

My growing obsession with lobster bisque!

After going to The Parthenon, we went to this restaurant called Joe’s Crab Shack. I swear, they have the best lobster bisque…well maybe next to the lobster bisque I had in Boston, hehehe.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Paaaaaaasta!

And since I’m a big fattie, I also ordered a big plate of creamy seafood alfredo. It’s heavenly! If you’re ever in Nashville, I really recommend trying out Joe’s Crab Shack. The food is amazing and the people are super friendly.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Woops, my diet is ruined!

It isn’t a good summer until ice cream is dripping down your hands! I got this cotton candy ice cream and some pralines (which are not photographed because i ate them all, huhuhu) from a store called Savannah’s Candy Kitchen.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Yum!

I swear, I eat ice cream like a child. But then again, who doesn’t? Savannah’s Candy Kitchen is located in Broadway Street in Nashville, TN. But I guess they have locations everywhere down South so just make sure to try their pralines if you ever visit because it’s to die for!

And that ice cream was actually my last meal in Nashville. It’s so good!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Taylor Swift Education Center inside the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum.

Oh! I actually almost forgot that we went to the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum. My cousin, Aaron, he’s a big fan of country music that’s why we visited. And I guess since we’re in Nashville, there’s no reason for us not to go.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Taylor Swift’s ‘1989’ tour costumes.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get a chance to take a lot of photos from inside the museum because I was busy listening to the audio tour, hihihi.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Taylor Swift’s sparkly guitar from her ‘Speak Now’ album and the dress that she wore for the ‘Love Story’ music video.

Well if it isn’t obvious from the photos, I’m a very big fan of Taylor Swift. Like from ‘Love Story’ to ‘Blank Space’, I’ve always followed and listened to her music. Unfortunately, I haven’t been to any of her concerts because every time she’d come to Manila, I’d be broke and I mean, a normal teenager like me doesn’t have money. Huhuhu! Hopefully her 1989 Tour comes to Manila!

P.S. Taylor, if you’re reading this, please give me a ticket to your concert!

Okay, that’s enough fan girling for today…

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

A replica of Taylor Swift’s tour bus.

Sorry, mum, but I’m leaving home to go touring with Taylor Swift.

To get inside the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum, you have to pay $24.95 if you’re an adult, $14.95 if you’re a ‘youth’ from the ages 6-12, and you can get your child in for free if they’re from the ages 5 and below.

To know more about the museum and their tours, you can click HERE to be redirected to their website.

So that’s our last stop on our Nashville trip. We drove to Pigeon Forge later that night.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Some of the places to see and visit at Pigeon Forge.

Our stay in Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg was actually quite abrupt because I had to catch my flight back to Manila and week later and I was seeing my boyfriend after that trip so we had no time to spare. Hopefully I could go back next year so I could enjoy this beautiful state!

This place is called Wonderworks. I didn’t really go in because we were in a hurry. But it’s definitely on my to do list next time I visit!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Tennessee transforming me to be a giant hippie.

I think the 70’s want my outfit back…

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Early the next morning, we drove for about 15 minutes to get to Gatlinburg from Pigeon Forge.

We took this thing called Gatlinburg Sky Lift. They take you from the lowest point of Gatlinburg to the mountains where you can stare at the city from above.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Just me being my usual grumpy self…

The way when all of the people you encounter at the Sky Lift are with their significant others and your boyfriend is halfway across the continent just chilling in Québec…

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This was the ‘view’ I was talking about.

You can ride the Gatlinburg Sky Lift for $16.50 if you’re an adult and $13.00 if you’re a child from the ages of 3-11. You can check their website by clicking HERE.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Danica’s travelling Keds…

I’ve actually had these Keds ever since like, forever! I remember that these were the first thing I bought with my own hard earned money from film making. So sad that I had to let go of them because they’re too worn out. RIP, Keds, you will be missed.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Just me being my fat self…

I actually gained so much weight! But then again, food is good, what can I do?

So since there’s not much time left, we just opted to hang out by the pool of our hotel in Pigeon Forge before heading back home to New York.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Just chilling by the pool on a nice sunny day.

It was a good summer. As a matter of fact, it was my best summer yet! I fell in love with Tennesse because of its vibrant aura, the very hospitable people and the very beautiful scenery. Though it was a very short trip, I’ve had the chance to see what it’s actually like. I’m most definitely coming back to Tennessee. Just like what’s in Billy Ray’s song, “To find my way back to Tennessee…”

And I know that there are a lot more stuff in Tennessee, that’s for me to find out the next time I visit! Ah! I can’t wait!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

It isn’t a visit to Tennessee without trying on some boots!

All photos were taken using my iPhone 5S.

“Thomas saith unto him, Lord we know not whither thou goest; and how can we know the way? Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.”

John 14: 5-6 KJV

One thought on “FOLLOWING PARALUMAN IN TENNESSEE

Leave a Reply

