NEW YORK, I’M SO IN LOVE WITH YOU!

For the past two months, I’ve been living and roaming out and about the streets of New York. Well technically, I live upstate, but you get the picture. Seeing all the picturesque streets and the buildings that I’ve then only seen in photographs, it made me realise that this city is the place where I want to live and build a career in. I mean, let’s face it, living in New York has its ups and downs, but I wouldn’t take it any other way.

The busy streets is a reminder that the people in this city are hard workers and that they will never let a single moment pass by without doing the best that they can to maintain their New York status. When you ride the Subway, you’ll encounter people from different walks of life and it will make you realise that this city is a very diverse and very cool. Then we you go to Times Square, you will see that this city is not just for the New Yorkers, but for the different people from all over the world who will do whatever they can just to set foot and see New York in all it’s lights and splendor.

I like to sit down at one of the roof top bars near 51st Street. It’s called Novotel. When you’re sitting on a stool from the balcony of that hotel/bar, you’ll see the people who are busy walking or just simply taking photos in Times Square. You can basically see all of the people who look like ants because they’re so tiny and cute! Whilst I was sitting there overlooking the crowd, I realised that this is a once in a lifetime opportunity and I shouldn’t let go of this feeling. Not everyone gets the chance to get to New York, I was blessed enough to see it and experience it at such a young age. I mean, I came from the Philippines, it’s really not easy to get a US Visa or let alone travel from where I’m from. But God didn’t let me down. Because He knew that visiting in this city is my ultimate dream, and He didn’t fail me.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

A photo of myself in Times Square.

So I realised that no matter how long the answers to our prayers come, we have to take heart and believe that no matter how long the wait is, is that it will come. That’s what I’ve learned in 20 years. Because sometimes us humans tend to be super impatient in getting the things we want to get, or we want that in every prayer there is an instant answer. But God doesn’t work like that. His answers work best in the perfect timing that He has set for our lives. Like for me, I’ve been dreaming of going to New York ever since I was 5 years old. I’m not even kidding! 15 years later, my dream had been fulfilled. You just have to be patient and believe that God will deliver you and that He will give you your heart’s desires in due time. He knows best, always remember that.

For now, I am back in the Philippines. I don’t know what I’ll do now because my mind and my heart is still in New York. I mean, we have to go back to reality, don’t we? But for sure, I will most definitely come back to New York because this is where my heart is!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Me and my love on the streets of Manhattan.

Literally, I left my heart in New York. Long distance relationship for now, my love! Ah! Only less than 4 months before I see him again! But for now, we both have to trust in God’s perfect timing. He knows best, so we must always follow Him. I’m just so grateful to be in a relationship with someone who shares the same Christian values as me. He’s my ultimate one true love and I wouldn’t trade him for any guys I see everyday back here in the Philippines. Yeah, I stopped calling Philippines ‘home’. I mean, yeah, the Philippines is my homeland, but for me, home is wherever and whenever I’m with him. No matter wherever we are on the face of this planet, as long as I am with him, then I am home.

Well for now I have to get back to the daily grind and work so I could have money to go back to New York or just basically travel with my lovely Canadian boyfriend! God’s got this! Remember, He will not fail you. He has not once failed you before, and the good news is, He is not about to start now. Take heart! The Lord has overcome the world!

“This I recall to my mind; therefore have I hope. It is of the Lord’s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness.”

Lamentations 3:21-23 KJV

Leave a Reply

