10 BOOKS THAT CHANGED MY LIFE FOREVER

If you’ve been reading my blog for quite some time now, you’ve come to the conclusion that I like posting about two things: travels and lists. Ha! So here’s another post with a list on it. What do you expect? Haha!

So this post is dedicated to all the books, ten books specifically, that changed my life forever. If you’re new to my blog, hello! I’m a writer (well I aspire to become one). I’ve also read quite a lot of books already and I’ll continue reading more books in the days to come. Literature has been a huge part of my life and as matter of fact, I’ve been thinking about doing my MA in Comparative Literature in Leeds, UK. Nothing’s final yet as I’ve only been out of university for my Bachelor’s some two months ago so I’m not in a hurry. But yeah, literature is life.

Here are the 10 books that changed my life forever:

(In no particular order.)

13410712_10204699882376055_935786194_o

The Princess Test

by Gail Carson Levine

Well you might be wondering why there’s a children’s book in my list. Well this is the first book that I’ve ever read in one sitting that really got me wanting to finish it. I think I was about 9, I was lying in bed next to my Aunt Rowena and she handed me this book.

Growing up, I never really liked reading. As a matter of fact, you wouldn’t be able to make me read books when I was a kid because I loathed books and reading, but this book changed my perspective in life. This book is THE BOOK that got my literature career started so it’s one of my very prized possessions.

13445953_10204699881376030_2050308226_o

Nancy Drew Mystery Series

by Carolyn Keene

At 13, all I wanted to become is a detective like Nancy Drew.

After reading The Princess Test, my Aunt Rowena sent me five Nancy Drew books every week so I could read them. Yes, I’ve read all 50+ Nancy Drew books. I’ve spent my early pubescent years reading through the yellowing pages of these books. I think think I’ve befriended Nancy, George, Bess and Ned (characters in the book) more than I’ve befriended children in our neighbourhood, but oh well.

Some of them are missing though, so I don’t know where I put it or maybe some people borrowed it and never returned it. But this book is one of my most favourites and when I get to have a child in the future, I’ll make her read Nancy Drew. Hardy Boys if I have a son, hehehe.

13410356_10204699881016021_2023586480_o

The Princess Diaries

by Meg Cabot

I know, princess again. What can I say? I’m a really huge fan of the movie! Anne Hathaway and Julie Andrews are some of the women that I really look up to when it comes to the film industry.

My dad gave me a complete set of The Princess Diaries when I turned 14. I remember just going to school with one book after the other and eventually my friend caught up with the craze and asked their parents to buy them too! It was amazing. I really liked these books. As a matter of fact, these are the books that started me writing. I would just stay up all night trying to figure out how I could write my very own novel like Princess Mia, and I’d remember how frustrated my dad is because I kept on printing papers and the ink are always empty. But I guess it’s a nice job that I did back then because it’s basically the book that made an impact on me as a writer and what made me start writing in the first place.

Also, I’d love to meet Meg Cabot at some point in my life, hehehe.

13105787_10204699881936044_278366948_o

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

by Ann Brashares

These are the books that made me want to travel. I’ve also been a huge fan of the movies. It’s sad that they didn’t make another one…but I get it, Tibby dies in the end (ooops!!!). I honestly cried in the last book and yeah, this book is the book that made me start travelling. So I’ve caught the travel bug through a book, ha!

13453418_10204699881616036_2144984986_o

Sophie’s World

by Jostein Gaarder

When I was a senior in high school, my English teacher, Kelvin, made me read this book. It’s a philosophical book, and it’s the book that made me very into philosophy. I’ve never told anybody this (except my mom), but I’ve thought of majoring in Philosophy in uni back then. Literature weighed more though, obviously.

This book is one of the best books that I’ve read in my life. It’s by Jostein Gaarder, a Norwegian author. It’s honestly so odd–more fascinating than odd though. I’m telling you, you should give this one a read!

13446087_10204699880616011_393488078_o (1)

The Merchant of Venice

by William Shakespeare

Ah! Shakespeare! I’m a playwriting major and I’ve looked up to Shakespeare ever since I’ve read this book! The main reason why I want to take my Masters in England is because I want to relive Shakespeare’s life, if that’s even possible. I just love him so much!

13452976_10204699881776040_1682599556_o

Eleven Minutes

by Paulo Coelho

I’ve been a fan of Paulo Coelho for quite some time now. I’ve read Veronika Decides to Die, Brida and The Witch of Portobello, but I must say that Eleven Minutes is my favourite book, so far. Coelho, he’s Brazilian, is just a genius! He’s written about topics like prostitution, suicide, wiccas and more without having it to sound rude or explicit. He’s a genius!

13460997_10204699882456057_828422787_o

The Five People You Meet in Heaven

by Mitch Albom

I don’t know how many times I’ve cried over this book. I’m not gonna tell you why, just read it.

I’ve read quite a few books by Mitch Albom but this one is my favourite. This book is amazing!

13405584_10204699881976045_1056867923_o

The Catcher in the Rye

by J.D. Salinger

I never really liked reading classics, but this book is the one that got me started reading classical books. After reading this, I’ve read George Orwell, John Steinbeck, Harper Lee and more. Classical books are not boring, they’re magical!

13446103_10204699882816066_808288802_o

The Bible

Need I say more? As a Christian, this book is where I base my life choices upon. I strive to live according to this book and it’s my life book. Yeah, some people might counter me on this one, but I guess everyone has different beliefs in life. You just have to respect each other’s.

So there, these are the 10 books that changed my life forever. Yes, they’re all foreign books. Books by Filipino authors would have a completely different post, hihihi.

Hope everyone’s having an amazing night!

“Blessed is the one who reads aloud the words of this prophecy, and blessed are those who hear, and who keep what is written in it, because the time is near.”

Revelation 1:3 ESV

Leave a Reply

