WHAT IT’S LIKE TO BE IN A LONG DISTANCE RELATIONSHIP

Whenever I tell my friends that I’m in a long distance relationship, their automatic reactions are, “How do you two manage to stay together when you’re both so far away?” I just smile at them.

There are three ingredients that you need to have in order for a long distance relationships to work out. These are patience, faithfulness and most importantly, love. My boyfriend and I might not be able to see each other (physically) every single day, I’m still glad that there’s the internet that is making LDR’s a lot easier because of technology. Thank you Skype, Facebook and FaceTime!

I live in the Philippines whilst my love lives in Canada. We’re on the opposite sides of the world and the time zones drive us crazy at times, but that doesn’t affect our love and affection for each other. Or if it does, it only makes us want to love each other more. LDR’s are hard, yes. But when you really love each other, the distance wouldn’t really matter because all that matters is what you really feel inside your heart.

For now we’ll have to be contented with Skype-ing every single day, but I’m so glad that I’m going to be seeing him again this June! I’m so excited and we both can’t wait to go on more adventures and to just be off each other’s screens for a change, ha!

Yes, LDR’s are hard and it takes quite the effort to keep it going, but believe me when I tell you that it’s worth it. It’s so worth it especially when the one who’s waiting for you on the other side of the world means the world to you. And always remember the three ingredients to having a successful LDR: patience, faithfulness and love! Oh, and don’t forget to pray for your relationship and for you partners too! It works. It really does.

“It was also called Mizpah, because he said, ‘May the Lord keep watch between you and me when we are away from each other.'”

Genesis 31:49 NIV

Leave a Reply

