WHAT IT’S LIKE TO BE A WANDERLUST IN A ROUTINIZED WORLD

To everyone who don’t know, I just graduated from university some three weeks ago. Some of my friends are already working and earning and just living the working class life. Me? Yes, I’m currently sitting my ass off at home searching for flights to go to different parts of the world. Just this morning my grandmother asked me, “Don’t you want to work? You’re so lazy.” She doesn’t understand, and it’s going to take some time explaining to her that I have no plans of working just yet because I’m planning on travelling first.

The look I get every time I tell people that I want to travel the world is a tad bit bizarre because they look at me like I’m a whacko or something. Is there something wrong about wanting to see the beautiful world that we live in? It’s hard to live in a world where we’re told to live in a routinized way. We’re born, we go to school for 17 or more years, we go to work, we get married, we get kids, we work some more, we become oldies, we die. Where’s the fun in that? Where could we squeeze in some travelling every now and then, right? Where’s ‘living’ in that routine? We’re like set off to be robots, but the good news is, we don’t have to be.

We are not robots! We have our own choices in life, liberty is a gift to the human race. At the end of the day when we’re sitting on a rocking chair when we’re 70, we won’t remember the day when we got promoted or when we got fired. What we’ll remember instead is that party when we’re 19 in Bangkok or that amazing feeling when we ran alongside monkeys in Siem Reap or the feeling we had when we first laid eyes on the magnificent Taj Mahal. It’s not about having the latest iPhone, it’s about the feeling we get when we set foot on some place new. That’s the feeling the I strive to live for every single day. Unfortunately, some people wouldn’t understand and feel it.

The next time someone tells you’re crazy for believing in your dreams, tell them they’re crazy for not living the life we’re given to live.

“The heart of man plans his way, but the LORD establishes his steps.”

Proverbs 16:9 ESV

9 thoughts on “WHAT IT’S LIKE TO BE A WANDERLUST IN A ROUTINIZED WORLD

    1. It saddens me that not many people get that point of view that’s why not many people get to enjoy their lives, or if they do, it might be too late. I’m happy we’re one of the few people who think like this. x

      Liked by 1 person

    1. We must always believe in our dreams–chase them and let it fill you up. Let’s be dreamers in this world, the world needs more of us. God bless you! x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

